We are hiring! | PGDM (BM) & PGDM (HRM) Results for XLRI - Xavier School of Management are announced. | Admissions Open for AICTE Approved 2-year online Postgraduate Diploma in Management (Business Management/ Human Resource Management/ Finance) - Batch 2024-26 (XLRI Online Learning) | XLRI Online Learning Admissions Open | Post Graduate Diploma in Business Management (Online) | Post Graduate Diploma in Finance (Online) | Post Graduate Diploma in Human Resource Management (Online)
Home Newsroom Press Releases


Press Release

National Librarians’ Day 2022

12th August, 2022

XLRI - Xavier School of Management, Jamshedpur celebrated the ‘National Librarians’ Day’ at Sir Jehangir Ghandy Library on 12th August 2022 in remembrance of the 130th birth anniversary of Late. Dr. S. R. Ranganathan, the Father of Indian Library Science.

The faculty, staff, researchers, students and the library staff members were present on this occasion.

Ms. Vijaya Jadhav, D.C. East Singhbhum, Jharkhand lighted the lamp for Dr S R Ranganathan followed by Fr. Donald D'Silva, S.J. Dean, Prof A K Pani, Dean –Academics, Administration & Finance, Prof. Sunil Kumar Sarangi, General Management Area, and Mr. D.T. Edwin, Head -Library.


After this, a formal function was started with a prayer song by Ms. Deepa and Ms Priya. Ms. Smita Nair delivered the welcome speech wherein briefly described the career journey of Ms. Vijaya Jadhav, D.C. East Singhbhum, Jharkhand.

Fr. Donald D'Silva, S.J. Dean - Administration & Finance throws some light on the life of Dr. S. R. Ranganathan and described his contribution towards the Indian & International library system. and promised all required support from the management side to upgrade the library to the next levels.

Prof. Ashis K Pani, Dean – Academics in his speech expressed the importance of the library to an institute and prospects for the betterment of the library. He suggested bringing more electronic resources in the future. Also, encouraged the users to use all the resources of the library.

Prof. Sunil Kumar Sarangi, General Management Area, nicely described the importance/relevance of Pen & Paper and Physical form of books over the e-resources of knowledge.

Mr. S.K. Tiwary, Head – Corporate Programs shared his experience and views about the Sir Jehangir Ghandy Library, as a student and staff of XLRI.

Mr. Prashanth Narayan emphasized the importance of finding ways to enhance the customer experience by addressing the exact Mr. D.T. Edwin, Head - Library, expressed few samples of the best practices the team follows like familiarising all the library applications by installing on their own official and personal devices including mobile phones, speed and accuracy in services and standard templates/formats followed in communication. Also, requested the user community to raise the ROI of all the library resources.

Ms. Neha Bellamkonda, FPM student shared her views and appreciated the library team for their helping attitude and the quality services.

Ms. Nevathika Narendran, General Secretary and Head of Students Affairs Council, appreciated the quality of the electronic resources and the services being provided to the users.

Ms. Vijaya Jadhav, D.C. East Singhbhum, Jharkhand nicely described the 5 Laws of Library Sciences postulated by Dr S R Ranganathan. She shared her own experience about different libraries she visited. Also, emphasized resource rich libraries should come up in every small villages, urban and in metros.

Fr. Donald D'Silva, S.J. Dean - Administration & Finance and Prof. Ashis K Pani, Dean – Academics facilitated all the library staff members including the Head- Library, Mr D T Edwin with gifts.

Prizes were bestowed to Quiz Winners which was conducted on 10th Aug 2022 by the Chief Guest Ms. Vijaya Jadhav, D.C. East Singhbhum, Jharkhand.

The 1st prize was grabbed by Ms. Itika Ganguly, 2nd Prize by Mr. Anuj Jain and two 3rd prizes by Ms. Manisha Beck and Ms. Saranjeet Kaur.

All the testimonials received from the faculty, staff and researchers as video and message on the library and its services, were also played and read during this ceremony. The formal program ended with the vote of thanks by Ms Neha Upadhyay and the National Anthem.